A Little Break from The First Fantasy

With v0.1 released, I feel like it’s in a nice, stable place to sit for a little while. In the meantime, I’ve volunteered to join a small group of my friends in our attempt to make a web game. This is something I’ve never really done before. JavaScript is mostly foreign to me, especially CSS and advanced web concepts. However, I’ve found and have been using a handy tool called pyjs (or PyJamas). It literally takes your python code and compiles it into JavaScript. It also provides a number of modules to facilitate a more “web focused” design. This is also my first “real” attempt at running the entire game through GUI elements.

We’re starting off with a simple Blackjack game to make sure we can get through the entire process (brainstorm, design, art, code, web stuff, hosting) without too many problems. If it all works out and we’re mildly impressed, we may try to make some actual attempts at bringing in some money with future games. It should be fun and already is a definite learning opportunity. I’ll post some information about it when I can, but we’d like to be as hush-hush about it until we know what the hell we’re doing!

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

