Inside Look – Eclipse IDE and PyDev

For my IDE of choice when working with my project, I use Eclipse. I was introduced to Eclipse a couple years after I had made the first iteration of The First Fantasy. Now instead of Java, I use it for Python development. To do this, I use PyDev. There’s a ton of features, including the ones you would expect from a proper IDE like code completion, syntax highlighting, code coverage, and a debugger. It feels natural and provides me really everything I need as a Python newbie. In fact, it’s probably got more features than I’d ever use in my lifetime.

Eclipse has literally hundreds of additional software projects that can be installed to enhance productivity. PyDev is just one of these. Another tool that I use is EGit, a git plug-in to allows me to perform version control operations from within the IDE. I’ll go into EGit more in a later, as it can be pretty complex compared to other VCS solutions and deserves its own post.

What IDE do you use? I hear all sorts of methods that people use to work on their code and a surprising number of them use basic text editors such as VIM or Sublime to write code. I couldn’t submit myself to that kind of torture for larger projects, but I’d imagine it would feel good to make something from complete scratch with little assistance.

Tagged , , ,

4 thoughts on “Inside Look – Eclipse IDE and PyDev

  1. Personally I don’t use an IDE, I just use Kate. For how little I do I’ve always seen an IDE as being overkill.

    • Dale Everett says:

      I definitely understand where you’re coming from. I was using Sublime for at least 75% of the initial code for the project and it worked just fine for me. I think I picked up Eclipse really to just “learn” more about coding within an IDE. There are some nifty features, especially for PyDev. This video shows some of it in action: http://pydev.org/video_pydev_20.html

  2. Onionnion says:

    I mostly use Geany, extremely lightweight and surprisingly useful. It doesn’t have all the common IDE features that you see, but it’s good at just showing you the code without any distractions. It also has a built-in terminal.

    For those PEP-8 checks I used the Ninja IDE. I know there must be a better tool out there for showing the errors, but I haven’t seen it, so for now I use Ninja to find that stuff.

  3. emmyleigh says:

    As a teacher I’m aiming for simplicity, so using IDLE so far, but I’ve played with Eclipse for Java – I don’t like it when I have to spend more time learning the interface than using the language though! I’ve used Geany on the raspberry pi, and it seems straightforward.

Leave a Reply

